PLEASE NOTE: HUGGE HAVE CEASED TRADING

The nearest alternative to Hugge is the Nectar Memory Foam Mattress

The Company

HÜGGE Ltd was founded in May 2013 although the Hugge mattress did not come to market till November 2016. In June 2017 they were one of the most successful crowdfunding projects on Seedrs.com when raising over £150,000 for a 16% share of the company. A family run company with the CEO Paul Francis working alongside his wife Claire Francis who is the lifestyle developer. Paul Francis has a background in the mattress industry having worked for a Scandinavian bed and mattress manufacturer. He was also involved in the 17,500 mattresses supplied to the 2012 London Olympic Village. Hugge Ltd is based in Cambridge in the UK. Hugge ceased trading in Summer 2019.

The Headlines:

Ü, You deserve a good nights sleep, Bed-in-a-bag, 100 night trial, CertiPur, two types of Memory Foam. Free pickup if you don’t want to keep it. UK based family run company. 10 year warranty. Custom size mattresses made to order.

Regional Differences

At the time of publication Hugge have just one version of their mattress.

Stores

You can try the Hugge memory foam mattress in stores at: Harrods, Next, Harvey Norman, Land of Beds and Myza. Not many online mattress companies can claim to be sold in the premier department store of Harrods but Hugge can. Started as a popup shop in 2016 and is still in Harrods today.
Play Video
The nearest alternative to Hugge is the Nectar Memory Foam Mattress

The Mattress

Not a bed-in-a-box but a bed-in-a-bag. The idea comes from HÜGGEs scadinavian influences. The bag covering the mattress is an Ikea style sturdy plastic type of bag that ties at the top like a sailor’s kit bag. This means it is reusable, cutting down on cardboard waste and with side handles making it easier to get through tight spaces and with less chance of damage in transport. The name HÜGGE is little play on words. Partly used because of the companies Scandinavian routes and influences it is a Danish word meaning cosy. It is pronounced in Danish as hooga but the company pronounce it hugger or huga. It also allows them to make use of what can also be seen a smiley face with the U having an Umlaut over it. The main selling points of the HÜGGE mattress are that it is CertiPur certified meaning it is certified to not contain the most harmful chemicals used in polyurethane foam and maximum limits are set for other substances. The mattress also uses a significant amount of memory foam (7.5 cm) compared to many other online offerings and both the top two layers are different types of memory foam. Of course you can get the rapidly becoming standard 100 night trial to try out your Hugge. The mattress was full height within 10 minutes so if you are in a hurry to sleep on the Hugge you can, but it is still advisable to let it air for 48 hours. I found Hugge very low smelling, only Emma had such low levels on first opening and within days there was no noticeable smell at all. Each mattress is hand sewn and finnished. They source their foam from a single supplier making consistency between products very good, this is something that several other online companies cannot claim. The mattress is shipped from their base in Cambridge. While you can choose a free standard delivery you also get options for before 9 am or Saturday delivery for an extra £10.
Hugge mattress
HÜGGE Mattress
The nearest alternative to Hugge is the Nectar Memory Foam Mattress

Cover:

HÜGGE use a high quality cover. 550 gsm is very high quality at this price level. Whats more is that this is a Tencel cover made in Belgium. Tencel has also been called Rayon or Lyocell and is a natural product made from wood pulp. This means it’s a natural product unlike the usual polyester covers. Polyester is often used because it is highly wicking but so is Tencel, just in a different way. While polyester does not absorb moisture Tencel does (more so than cotton) so you are not laying directly on moisture which can be a breding ground for bacteria. Tencel has natural channels so while it absorbs body moisture it also wicks it away via these channels. Tencel is a smooth fabric and naturally hypo-allergenic. The cover on HÜGGE is slightly thicker than some other covers I have recently tried but is still stretchy and this enough for good breathability. Note that Hugge does not have handles sewn onto the bottom or middle as is becoming more common now. While the cover can be removed the zip is right on the bottom making this quite awkward and the top section remains as part of the side surrounds. The cover is not machine washable and is spot clean only. It is a matter of debate how strict the no machine wash recommendation should be. It relates to how much of the fire-retardant properties remain after several washes. The difference between a washable cover and non-washable cover is often just how conservative the company is with this criteria. Branding is by way of a small blue label on the side simply saying Hugge.

Layer Densities:

Note that while I always try to find out the details of each layer as it is generally a big indicator of quality and lifespan I am not always able to get this information. It is highly common in the mattress industry to guard these details because it is so easy for competitors to then attempt to spec seemingly the same foams on paper but with foam from cheaper suppliers with perhaps less strict quality control and other factors. Hugge being a small startup has opted to not publish this information at this point. Having weighed the mattress I can tell you however the average density is very similar to other direct competitors that I have reviewed. Also note that on the Hugge website it does state their density for the memory foam as being better than Eve who at the time of the claim were using 75 kg/m3 for their memory foam which is good quality.

Top Layer:

2.5 cm (1 inch) Memory foam
While 2.5 cm is not especially deep it must be remembered it works with the memory foam layer below and is used to aid cooling. The layer below being more supportive. HÜGGE is a softish mattress and the top layer is in line with this feel. It gives very easily to pressure in true memory foam like fashion. That is the sticky very precise and moulding feel as you push down on it. It is so common these days for companies to say they are memory foam but when you lay on it you clearly get the feel more of a hybrid foam sitting between memory foam and a normal polyurethane foam. This means you might get a more responsive foam but you are not getting the classic pressure relieving properties of a full memory foam. Having said that the memory foam here is still quite responsive, just not instant. When you lay on the mattress for some time and you move position it may take 30 seconds or so for your full body impression to disappear. This is very good, you will not get stuck in the foam or find a dip in the middle an hour after you moved position. Not all memory foams can say that and is something that outs people off memory foam. The other issue of course is heat. I have had no heat issues with Hugge but I am not particularly sensitive outside of very hot summer nights to this. Note that Hugge say this top layer has been especially specified to be more open cell than standard memory foams to allow for more air flow and thus better cooling. As with all the layers it is CertiPur certified for low VOCs and free of the most harmful chemicals and hard metals.

Second Layer:

5 cm (2 inches) Memory foam
The second layer compliments the top layer by adding a higher density supportive memory foam. Along with the top layer the 7.5 cm (3 inches) of memory foam becomes enough memory foam to really get the full pressure relieving and blood circulation benefits. While many mattresses offer memory foam in the second layer it needs to be at the top to absorb your body heat and work the way it was originally intended when developed by NASA back in the 1960s.

Base Layer:

17.5 cm (6.9 inches) polyurethane foam.
The base layer is standard high density polyurethane foam. What makes it different is the way it has been zoned. It has become normal at this price level to zone the mattress by castellation of the base layer. This is cutting channels through it in certain areas and actually removing foam. This weakness the foam so there is more give at that point, but the removal of foam will affect its lifespan. Hugge creates zoning by cutting sliced areas to allow for more give but no foam is actually removed. This makes it preferable to methods that actually remove foam promising better lifespan. For Hugge they have used the zones to create more give at hip and shoulder level.

HÜGGE Mattress Overall:

Total height: 25 cm (9.8 inches)
Average density: 40 kg/m3
Hugge mattress layers
HÜGGE Mattress Layers
The nearest alternative to Hugge is the Nectar Memory Foam Mattress

Mattress weights:

Based on weighing my own Hugge mattress the weights would be:
UK single 19 kg
EU single 20 kg
UK double 29 kg
EU double 31 kg
UK king 33 kg
EU king 36 kg
UK super king 40 kg
Hugge mattress branding
Hugge mattress branding
The nearest alternative to Hugge is the Nectar Memory Foam Mattress

Tests and Analysis:

Edge support:

Edge support is very much aligned with firmness. HÜGGE is of the soft side and so is never going to be amazing for edge support. It is not terrible, you wont fall off the edge as you roll over from lack of edge support but it will give as you sit on it to put on your socks and shoes. Better than Emma hybrid and inline with Simba and Leesa.
Score: 7.5/10 for edge support

Firmness (how far it sinks for a given weight):

On the face of it it should be easy to say one mattress is firmer than another but the reality is quite different. Some mattresses will give as you lay on it and then remain stable, others will give a little but continue to give over several hours. Some have an obvious push-back while others have no push-back at all even though they sink the same amount. This makes firmness far more subjective than you would rightly assume. HÜGGE is a memory foam mattress and as such will give gradually over a period of time rather than sinking right in immediately. This is good, this is how memory foam should work along with no push back and thus giving great pressure relief. However HÜGGE does continue to sink at the highest pressure points longer than most other mattresses I have tested (mostly non-memory foam). This means how firm or soft it feels can vary greatly depending on how long you sleep in the same position. However this is reflected in the score of 5.5, if you only lay on for 30 minutes for example the softness would be similar to the Casper and Simba. Taking everything into account I grade Hugge as one of the softer mattresses I have tried, alongside Emma Hybrid although I found I still had more support than I did on the Emma Hybrid under my lumbar region when on my back. On my side HÜGGE was great for the shoulders but my hips sank a little more than I felt optimal.
Firmness 6/10

Cooling:

Cooling is the downside of memory foam. It works by absorbing your body heat to allow it to mould to your body. This means if you are sensitive to heat build up memory foam might not be for you. Having said that there are things some companies try to do to alleviate the heat issues. In the case of Hugge they have specified a higher than average open cell formula for the top layer to increase air circulation. Whether it works or not will be down to the individual but I would score it just above a normal memory foam for cooling.
6.5/10 for cooling

Spot Relief (point elasticity):

This often is highly correlated with firmer mattresses having the best point elasticity. However despite being one of the softest mattresses HÜGGE did very well for spot relief. This is the amount of foam displaced around a single point of pressure with smaller being better. HÜGGE was better than other soft mattresses such as Simba and Casper and better than the firmer Leesa.
8/10 for spot relief

Mattress for Sex/Bounce:

Of course this is highly subjective but for many people a large part of how they decide on a mattress will be how it suits their lifestyle outside of just sleeping. I judge this area on the combination of bounce and comfort. Decent bounce without being a trampoline while retaining some comfort and not an overly firm surface. Even your weight will change how this criteria scores so please remember this score is a guide only and aimed at people of average weight. The combination of softness, slow response and very little bounce add up to make the HÜGGE not great for sex IMHO.
6.5/10 for Sex

Weight Capacity:

Motion Transfer:

As you move around on your bed that motion gets transferred across the mattress and can be bothersome to a partner trying to sleep. For many motion transfer is high on the list of priorities when looking for a new mattress. In this regard HÜGGE is excellent in true memory foam fashion. Transferring very little movement across the mattress and one of the best I have tested in this category. Mattresses without a large amount of memory foam just cannot compete which means the likes of Leesa, Casper, Eve and Emma are all behind the HÜGGE mattress in this area. Nectar is just a tad behind and Ergoflex a tad better.
9/10 for motion transfer

Type of Sleepers this mattress suits:

This is highly dependent on your weight and the feel you are after. I am scoring this in a general manner assuming average build. However still take on board that even you are 20 stone and want a really soft feel as a stomach sleeper for example it is never going to be good. Generally you need most support on your stomach and that is almost always going to feel firm. As a soft mattress but still supportive mattress Hugge will suit most positions. However it will suit side sleepers best and not be a great fit for stomach sleepers simply because of the needs of those positions. Back sleepers can normally use any mattress that fits there firmness preference while hopefully keeping your spine aligned.
Score: Back, 8/10, Side 9/10, Front 5.5/10.

Price:

I rank price quite bluntly by average price across the line. It makes no allowance for quality or value. It is just a guide to the mattresses I have reviewed and in this regard Hugge is among the more expensive but bear in mind we are not talking about much difference. The difference between 7th place and 4th place is just £21 and makes no allowance for special deals, it is based on advertised retail prices.
Average price: £624, rank: 7th of 8

Materials/Design:

CertiPur foam is a big plus, it shows it can be done at a reasonable price level and makes you wonder why it is still a rarity. The cover is a high quality Tencel one which is a natural product, something that is important since its the one closest to your body. I like the way they have used a sliced castelation for the base rather than actually removing foam to make certain areas weaker.
8/10 for Materials and Design

Off-gassing/Smell:

There was the teeniest of smells if I put my nose very close up to the mattress on opening, this is great. Now 3 weeks later there is no smell at all, the least smelly mattress I have had. This matters because that smell you get from foam is chemicals being leeched, volatile organic compounds. No smell does not mean their is no off gassing but an obvious smell is correlated with the more harmful chemicals you can have off gassing. So a low smelling mattress is a good sign.
9/10 for smell

Comfort:

I do not score this section because it is totally 100% subjective what each individual will call comfortable or not comfortable. I can only relay my own personal experiences and it may have no significance to anyone else. I personally have found the HÜGGE one of the more comfortable mattresses I have tried. This surprised me because it is a soft mattress and normally I would not get enough support for my lower back when laying on my back as for example happened with the Simba. But memory foam with its different properties still filled out my lumbar region nicely and even though I sink in significantly I still felt supported. For me HÜGGE had a great combination of support and comfort, not 100%, it is still a tiny amount on the soft side for me but I was sleeping very happily on the HÜGGE mattress. Remember for comparison purposes I am 13 stone (83 kg) and 6 foot. If you are heavier Hugge will feel softer, if you are lighter Hugge will feel firmer. Also note the zoning actually has most give between shoulders and waist which I think helps here as it retains more support for the hip/pelvic area.

Zoning:

7 zones. Zoning is simply the fine tuning of different sections of the mattress to fine tune the give in certain areas. It may or not be appropriate for you and should not be considered a deal breaker one way or the other when choosing a mattress. HÜGGE has 7 different areas of firmness using slices cut into the base and does this without removing any foam. Most give is between the pelvis and shoulder area followed by the shoulder and pelvic area themselves. The very ends are left untouched. I felt the zoning worked well for me.
Hugge mattress zoning
Hugge mattress zoning

Summary:

Item out of 10
Edge Support 7.5/10
Firmness 6/10 (soft)
Cooling 6.5/10
Spot Relief 8/10
Sex/Bounce 6.5/10
Motion Transfer 9/10
Back Sleepers 8
Side Sleepers 9
Stomach Sleepers 5.5
Price av: £624 (rank 7th of 8)
Materials/Design 8/10
Smell/off-gassing 9/10
Zoning: yes, 7 zones in base layer

Prices:

Hugge only advertise the UK sizes for their mattresses. However they will make up a mattress to any size including EU sizes as a custom order with a delivery time of 2-4 weeks.
Type Price
Single £399
EU Single
Double £599
EU Double
King £699
EU King
Super King £799
The nearest alternative to Hugge is the Nectar Memory Foam Mattress

General Mattress Notes:

Overview:

Not another bed in a box but a bed-in-a-bag
HÜGGE mattress bag
HÜGGE mattress bag
I had high hopes for the HÜGGE mattress because I am personally a fan of memory foam as long as it doesn’t feel like quicksand and sleep too hot. To make the most of memory foam you also need a significant layer of it as the top layers. When I had my Eve it had just 3 cm of memory foam and never really gave me the memory foam feel. The same can be said of Otty which also has just 3 cm. Hugge has a decent layer of 7.5 cm in total for the top two layers. What’s more they are CertiPur certified and sourced from a single supplier. The top layer is more open cell for better cooling and softer than the layer below which is higher density for better supporting properties. I had a good experience with Hugge not just from a comfort and support position but also it simply does not smell, I have certainly been put off some mattresses by their extended chemically smells. As i said earlier I received Hugge for free so cannot comment on the purchase and delivery experience. I will also point out that I approached Hugge for a review mattress as I do whenever anyone requests in my youtube and website comments for my opinion on a specific mattress. Sadly it is rare for companies to supply me with a mattress without making any requirements on what I can say and I have to decline. HÜGGE did not require anything of me and supplied a mattress no questions asked. They are clearly a small family run business and I would expect customer service to be more hands on than larger companies at least till they grow substantially. I do like to give out the density for each layer but in this case HÜGGE for commercial reasons preferred not to give me the technical specifications. I do know the overall density is fine at 40 kg/m3. We also know they state on the website that their memory foam has a higher density than Eve which at that time was 75 kg/m3. I believe this relates to the second layer on Hugge with the top layer being lower density for comfort reasons. HÜGGE was at full height within 10 minutes and when you consider that this is not a springy mattress I have to wonder if this has any significance. The only other mattress to do this was the Emma Original which accruing to Which magazine is one of the best mattresses they have tested for durability. At the very least it shows the Hugge mattress as a whole has a propensity to maintain its full height. I did find Hugge did well to not keep your body indention once you moved position. While it did linger for say 30 seconds before fully recovering bear in mind traditional memory foam can take minutes to hours to do this. HÜGGE is definitely on the soft side so that’s something to keep in mind. For me this was great because I got comfort plus support which is rare for me. More support than I usually get for a mattress this soft. You will need to want a softer mattress and be aware of the pluses and minuses of memory foam for sure to choose Hugge as your go to mattress. If you are a stomach sleeper and of normal weight you may need a firmer mattress to prevent your hips sinking in too much. For side sleepers Hugge is very shoulder friendly. Back sleepers will just need the Hugge to be in their preferred firmness range. HÜGGE will feel firmer for lighter individuals, soft for medium build individuals and very soft for heavier individuals. I must mention that I found even wear for the HÜGGE was more important than other mattresses I have tried. It is always important to keep rotating your mattress as much a possible for the first few weeks and to try and get the wear as even as possible. I found HÜGGE did soften up a little quite quickly as the main pressure points so its important to keep that even with the mattress as a whole. Rotating and trying to sleep on slightly different areas if possible will help a lot to keep everything even.

Base:

As always needs to be pointed out with these mattresses, they have an incorporated base layer making it easy to place anywhere and on any surface other than a slated base where the slats are too wide apart and allow the foam to sink through. It also means you can only rotate but not turn the mattress. Rotate daily if you can for the first 30 days to help even out break in.

Iterations:

Only one version so far for Hugge.

Website:

They say: Our unique 3 layer mattress This relates to their use of two different memory foam layers for the first two layers and the way they are specified. It is also relates to the way the base is zoned. So the unique aspect is not the actual foams but the way they are put together to work synergistically in the mattress and their technical specifications. Note most 3 layer foam mattresses in the UK online world use two layers of polyurethane foam and one layer of memory foam which is normally in the middle.

Hugge vs Bruno

Two very different mattresses. Bruno is one of the firmest and bounciest mattresses I have tried. It has a latex top layer and only one other layer, the solid polyfoam core. HÜGGE has 3 layers, is the softer end for firmness, has better motion transfer and pressure relief but will sleep a little hotter.

HÜGGE vs Casper

Similar firmness levels, Casper has polyfoam top layer and actually uses four layers. Casper has more bounce while Hugge has better motion transfer properties.

HÜGGE vs Emma

Hugge and the Emma Hybrid are soft mattresses while the Emma Original is a firmer mattress. Both Emma mattresses have polyurethane foam on top while Hugge has memory foam. Hugge is much better than the Hybrid for spot relief and similar to the Original. Both Emmas are much more bouncy but Hugge has the least transfer of motion.

HÜGGE vs Eve

Hugge is 7.5 cm of memory foam on top while Eve is a Polyurethane foam top layer with the memory foam under that. Eve is firmer by quite a margin, has more bounce but transfers more motion than Hugge does but not by a huge amount. Both have CertiPur certification.

HÜGGE vs Leesa

Leesa is firmer, uses Avena foam (polyfoam) for the top layer but adds holes so is better for cooling. Leesa is bouncier but Hugge has better pressure relief and point elasticity.

Hugge vs Nectar

Very similar mattresses. Hugge has 7.5 cm of memory foam while Nectar has 9 cm. Both are CertiPur mattresses and have similar firmness. Hugge has less motion transfer while Nectar is better for point elasticity. Hugge has a Tencel cover and comes in custom sizes. Nectar uses Revo memory foam and has a forever warranty.

HÜGGE vs Otty

Otty is considerably firmer and bouncier thanks to the use of full size pocket springs even though it also has a memory foam layer on top. Both use CertiPur certified foams.

HÜGGE vs Simba

Both Hugge and Simba are soft mattresses. Simba uses synthetic latex for the top layer and micro pocket springs below that. Simba will likely sleep cooler but Hugge has is better for motion transfer and pressure relief.