Casper Mattress Review

Disclaimer: This is my personal honest review of my Casper Mattress. I actually bought the mattress and did not receive a free or discounted one for review. Please note that the links back to the Casper website are affiliate links. This means I get a commission if you buy via my link (you pay no extra). This is no way affects my objectivity. Just making this clear!

The Company

Casper is a New York registered company selling in several countries including USA, UK, France, Switzerland, Canada, Germany and Austria. Their domain details show the registrant as Gabriel Flateman who was one of the five co-founders. The others being  CEO Philip Krim, COO Neil Parikh, chief creative officer Luke Sherwin, and chief product officer Jeff Chapin. They began selling mattresses online in 2014 and came to the UK in 2016.

The Headlines:

Mattress in a box (bed-in-a-box), 100 night trial. Free pickup if you don’t want to keep it. Over 400,000 mattresses sold. 10 year warranty.

Regional Differences

My review is for the UK version. When I bought my mattress, it was very different to the USA version which had a latex top comfort layer, however they have since changed that and the traditional Casper mattress they always sold is now complemented by a high end mattress called the Casper wave (also sold in Canada). At the time of writing it is not being sold in the UK. Huge differences remain between USA, UK and other European countries. For example Germany has a latex top layer and both the bottom two layers have zoning. The USA Casper mattress features high end zoning, that is zoning using layers of different firmness rather than cutting holes through a layer and reducing its density. It is also worth noting that the UK mattress has the fire retardant chemicals added directly to the foam and there is no need for the fire stocking you will find on USA mattresses.
Play Video

The Mattress

Casper uses a different configuration to many of the other look-a-like bed-in-a-box companies. Most mattresses till now have been based on a simple three layer configuration. The top Comfort layer, a middle support layer and a bottom base layer. Casper has a 4 layer structure adding a smoother transition between layers.
The Casper website provides very little in the way of technical details on the mattress configuration but this is not unusual in the online mattress market. The details below are from my own measurements, research and information provided via their online chat facility.

The Casper Mattress Layers:

The figures quoted are from the best information available to me, Casper do not provide official specifications in terms of the materials used.

Cover:

Casper Matress Cover
Casper Matress Cover

Polyester Zipper Cover, 99% polyester 1% elastane.
Elastane is a highly elastic, highly durable material made from polyester-polyurethane copolymer (a copolymer is two bondable molecules ). The cover is the classic grey/black plus white top that has become the defacto design for online mattress companies. Personally I am not a fan at all and would love to see some vivid colours and some branding imagination in the design of these covers. However I do like the feel of the cover, the stretchy smooth feel is one of the better covers I have come across. For 2018 Casper added handles to the bottom section of the cover to aid handling and moving of the mattress. The over is particularly heavy weight with the EU single weighing in at 2.5 kg on its own.
Note: The cover can not be machine washed according to the label. Website information may say otherwise.

Top Layer:

4 cm (1.6 inches) Open cell polyfoam. Density: 48 kg/m3 (3 pcf)

This would be the main comfort layer and designed to be conforming to your body shape. Open cell high elasticity polyurethane foam. All poly foams used in mattresses are open cell. This is a soft polyfoam with a surprising bounce for its firmness and contouring feel. Despite being on the soft side it is still responsive. The density is fine for the top layer and actually higher than some other similar online mattresses. Having said that this is a lower density than Casper have used in the past.

Second Layer:

3.75 cm (1.5 inches) memory foam. Density: 49 kg/m3 (3.1 pcf)

Visco Elastic foam and memory foam are interchangeable terms. It is not some special form of memory foam. According to Casper this is 49 kg/m3 which again is bang on what this type of online mattress seems to be specified with. Memory foam tends to come in higher densities than standard polyurethane foam but this is more important for a top layer. Again some companies are using lower densities than this and you only really see higher densities when the memory foam is the top layer. Having the memory foam on the second layer means you wont get the heat build up affect and the slow response problems. The layer will sink in slowly as you sleep on it and be slow to respond as you move but it wont be obvious as the top layer has decent spring and bounce. Having a softer layer above means together they will provide more of a wrapping contouring feel than a firmer layer above, as indeed Casper used to have.

Third Layer:

3.25 cm (1.3 inches) polyfoam. Density: 48 kg/m3 (3 pcf)

This is the interesting layer, its density and feel was originally between the comfort layer and base layer at 40 kg/m3. The density is now higher at before at 48 kg/m3. If you think of it as base layer topper you have a 6.3 (16 cm) base layer where the top part is more durable than a normal base layer. It provides a smoother transition between the softer top layers and the bottom firm base layer. Heavier people will hit the transition layer that much sooner.

Base Layer:

12.5 cm (4.9 inches) polyurethane foam. Density: 33 kg/m3 (3.1 pcf)

A standard density base layer with a very reasonable density. In 2018 Casper added some zoning to the base. They call it contour cuts. The cuts are at the shoulder level and will add some give and comfort for the shoulder. This type of cutting out channels is known as castalated.

Average Density:

Total height: 9.5 inches 24cm. Average Density: 41.6 kg/m3 (2.1 pcf)
Based on my EU single which I have weighed at 18 kg (no cover)

This is the average of all the foam used. Foam density can indicate potential life of the mattress and its ability to withstand constant compression decompression. You should be aware though that its the top layers that matter most and because the base layer is by far the deepest layer it can skew how the density is spread across the mattress with a single average figure.
The Casper figure is interesting, while inline with its main rivals my figure is higher than the densities Casper provided me with (40.6 kg/m3). They used to quote 56 kg/m3 for the top layer and now say it is 48 kg/m3. However using the old figure would give me the weight of my actual mattress.

Over all feel:

Having tested the mattress before trying it out I had found the firmness to be in line with the likes of Simba, Emma and Leesa and thus placing it in the softer range of mattresses I have tried. However perceived firmness can be quite different when the bounce, push back and point elasticity comes into play. I found Casper had an elastic type feel which meant it didn’t feel as contouring or enveloping as Simba or Leesa. I also found the spot relief was excellent in my tests but this was nullified to some extent by the pushback as was the give at the shoulders which on paper I was expecting to be significant. In many ways it is still similar to the older Casper I had which was slightly firmer but had less of the elastic feel. I think my preference would be for the 2017 version but I think they are both fine mattresses for something between the softer and firmer mattresses (even if I class it as softer).

Casper mattress layers
casper mattress layers

Weights of the mattresses as provided by Casper:
The containing box will weigh 3 kg.

Mattress weights:

Single 20 kg
EU Single 21 kg
Double 32 kg
EU Double 35 kg
King 38 kg
EU King 40 kg
Super king 46 kg


My own EU single weighed in at 20.5 kg, in line with the Casper weights. Using this weight the other weights would be.

UK single20 kg
EU single21 kg
UK double29 kg
EU double32 kg
UK king34 kg
EU king36 kg
UK super king41 kg
Casper Mattress
Casper Mattress

My Casper Mattress Thoughts

Arrival:

So the day came and the big box that all these online vacuum packed mattresses are contained in arrived. On purchase I was given a choice of free standard delivery by UPS or for £20 I could choose a 2 hour time slot (not till the day of delivery though). I went of the free option. Tracking did not update from the UPS and I just happened to be in on the day of arrival or I would not have known the mattress was coming. I am on a first floor and the delivery guy (just one man for my EU single)  brought the mattress up the stairs without complaint. Bear in mind the easiest time to manoeuvre these mattresses are when they are still boxed so you may want to take it straight to the bedroom before unpacking. However like all petroleum based foam mattresses off gassing (VOCs, volatile organic compounds) can be considerable during the first 48 hours and it is good practice to allow any mattress first to air in a well ventilated room before first use. I made a video of my unboxing which you can view here: Casper Mattress Unboxing This is my third Casper mattress and the first was actually packed the wrong way round. You can find that video on my main youtube channel (alanrossreviews). The cover was put on the wrong way round so if I had not looked inside the cover I would have been sleeping on the bottom base layer :).  This time all was ok (as was the second time).

Experience:

The 2018 Casper is softer than my 2017 version. As someone who does suffer with lower back pain I found I simply wasn’t getting any bad nights in terms of waking with aches and pains on the original Casper. While my Leesa Mattress had been really nice to sleep on when my lower back was giving me trouble I was waking with aches in that region. Not so with the  2017 Casper. The 2018 version is now more inline the feel of the Leesa and the Simba but retains its good spot relief (point elasticity) properties. The difference is not down to the zoning because that only effects the shoulders and the difference is subtle anyway, maybe 0.5 cm extra give. Of the softer mattresses (Emma, Leesa, Simba) Casper is perhaps the most supportive but the feel is quite different so you might not feel that way because of the pushback. I sleep 60% on my back and 40% on either side. I would say Casper has the best combination of comfort and support of the mattresses I have tried while not being best for either one (hope that makes sense). That does not mean its the most comfortable, I would say that was Leesa, or the most supportive, I would say that was Otty, but has the best combination. I still prefer the 2017 version because it was firmer and suited me personally more. Also you need to know that I personally now use a 2 inch topper on a firm mattress (normally the 2017 Casper) when not testing out a mattress. When sleeping on your side give in the shoulder area is highly important and this is where the latest version of Casper has the most improvement. The softer foams together with the added zoning for the shoulder give at least a 1-1.5 cm extra give at the shoulder. The zoning adds around 0.5 to 1 cm give compared to the middle of the mattress. That is for someone of average weight. In terms of heat retention I have had no problems. Sure I have to swap out my duvet for a cooler one in the summer but that’s normal, I have not had any mattress related heat issues. This gets talked about a lot and you should note this is mostly a problem with the memory foam top layer mattresses since memory foam actually works by retaining heat to mold to your shape.

After-sales:

My experience of the after sales service was excellent. I had need to let them know the mattress cover had been placed the wrong way round. This wasn’t a huge deal to take off and put back the other way round but the support team offered an immediate exchange and when I decided to keep it then gave me another £50 off.

Tests and Analysis:

Edge support:

Foam mattresses aren’t great for edge support unless they are reinforced. Casper is average in this respect and is inline with several other mattresses I have tried such as Leesa, Emma Original, HÜGGE and Simba mattresses.

Score: 7.5/10

Firmness (sinkage):

I use a 20 kg, 30kg and 40kg weight to find the amount of give in the central area and shoulder area of the mattress. There was a significant difference between the 2017 and 2018 versions of Casper. The newer Casper being softer and on a par with Emma Hybrid and just behind the likes of Leesa, HÜGGE and Simba. Firmness of a mattress is a combination of the sinkage and the feel as you reach the bottom of the sinkage. The amount of push-back and how close you are to the firm base layer will determine the overall feel in terms of firmness. As each layer between mattresses change in configuration it means depending on your weight the relative differences between mattresses will change. I point this out because Casper has 4 layers while the others mention have 3  layers in terms of foam and a larger firm base. This means relative to other overall similar firmness mattresses named above Casper will feel firmer for average  or lighter individuals and firmer for heavier individuals.

Firmness 6.5/10

Cooling:

Polyfoam as used in the top layer is better than memory foam but worse than latex for cooling. Each generation of this polyurethane foam advances in its cooling properties. I had no issues with heat retention which is something more often associated with memory foam. Heat retention will also be a factor of the sinkage and how much material surrounds and contours to you. Casper has an average sinkage and again this will be another factor on its side. An option to improve cooling is to aerate the top layer by creating lots of holes through it to allow for better air circulation. Leesa for example has this. Casper does not. There is a trade off however in that you end up with less material, lower density foam, this can affect the firmness and resiliency/durability.
I give Casper

7.5/10 for cooling

Spot Relief (point elasticity):

This is the amount of foam outside the area of contact that is affected by the area being depressed. Less area of affect is better for actual body contouring. Casper did ok but at the bottom end of the mattresses I have tested. In line with Leesa and better than the Emma Hybrid. Behind the likes of Simba and the firmer Eve and Bruno.

7/10 for spot relief

Mattress for Sex/Bounce:

This is a far more asked question than you may think. I judge a mattress to be good in this area if it has good bounce and spring without being like a trampoline. Casper scores well in this regard having more bounce than the Leesa or Simba and on a par with Emma Mattresses. Best that I have tested so far would be the Otty or Eve. Bruno has the most bounce but possibly too much bounce together its its firmness not being ideal for sex.
My score:

7.5/10 for sex

Weight Capacity:

Casper state a maximum weight  capacity of 150 kg per person, this is very good and way above the average of 114 kg.

Motion Transfer:

There is a deep relationship between the amount of energy transferred across a mattress and the amount of bounce it has. Foam mattresses are inherently good at motion transfer in that they dissipate the energy absorbed very well. That being said they will still vary according to densities and blends used. Casper being a little bouncier will not fair quite so well for motion transference, but this is relative, it is not bad by any means. On the other hand the spot relief is good meaning as you fall down onto it a smaller area than say the Leesa is affected. Overall Casper is behind all but the very bouncy Bruno for motion transfer.

6.5/10 for motion transfer

Type of Sleepers this mattress suits:

Casper works for all types of sleepers. I’m personally am a 65% back 35% side sleeper. On my back this hugs my back nicely giving support where it should and give where it should. For side sleepers it is now one of the most shoulder friendly that I have tried. The softer feel overall plus zoning at the shoulder helps take pressure away from that area. It is also good for front sleepers although it is a terrible position to sleep in with likely issues as you age. However it does provide the support required to prevent your spine falling into the mattress taking your spine out of alignment. However depending on your weight heavier individual will want a firmer mattress for stomach sleeping.

Back sleepers 7/10 Side sleepers 8.5/10 Stomach sleepers 6/10

Price:

Casper does very well on a retail price comparison and is one of the cheaper options online for similar mattresses. However bear in mind price promotions are always ongoing so some homework is needed to compare day to day prices.

Average price: £582, rank: 2nd of 9

Materials/Design:

The materials used are very much standard spec at this price level and for this type of foam mattress. The total amount of high density polyfoam used is not bad at all at 41 kg/m3, this is pretty much the ball park for this price level. The Bruno is out on its own for this measure at 51 kg/m3. The use of the third transition layer sets Casper apart and the addition of handles and zoning is welcome.

7.5/10

Off-gassing/Smell:

The smell of a mattress made with petro chemicals and other chemicals as all synthetic mattresses are (even synthetic latex) is from the leeching of some of the compounds. Even natural latex has added chemicals. Called volatile organic compounds or VOCs for short, they have a high vapor pressure which means at normal air temperatures they can give off a vapor/gas. Some VOCs are highly toxic but rest assured government sets standards for the levels permitted in your mattress. Even better, it is possible to obtain foam certified to be low in VOC for a whole range of chemicals. This is more expensive of course so not many companies use certified foam in the UK. However the Otty, Eve and Simba mattresses does use certified foam. You must allow any mattress 48 hours to air before judging it on this criteria. There was a normal amount of off-gassing smell for the first week or so but it has lingered longer than most of the others.

Smell 7/10

Comfort:

This is so subjective that I do not feel you can score a mattress this way. Everyone has different needs and requirements. If you are lighter than me this mattress will feel firmer to you, if you are heavier than me it will feel softer. I find Casper has a good combination of comfort and support for me but it is a little on the soft side meaning support for my lower back when laying on my back support is a little lacking but my lumbar region is filled just above where my hips sink. If I am not using a topper Casper along with Leesa are the mattresses I go to. Leesa though lacks the cradling for my lumbar region I get from casper but is better at holding my body up. Its just preference. HÜGGE has been also comfortable and supportive for me despite being quite soft. Casper is more side sleeping friendly for me than Leesa. However if not testing mattresses I still prefer overall a firmer mattress with a memory foam topper.

I am 13 stone, that is 82kg or 182lbs.

Zoning:

Some mattresses have zoning. This is where they adjust the sinkage levels of parts of the mattress so some areas have more give than others. For the shoulder area for example you would want more give than the back area. Casper added zoning for their 2018 version. While they call it 5 zones it is actually cuts at two areas, both at shoulder level. The five is by adding the three untouched sections.

Summary:

Itemout of 10
Edge Support7.5
Firmness6.5 (soft)
Cooling7.5
Spot Relief7
Sex/Bounce7.5
Motion Transference6.5
Back Sleepers7
Side Sleepers8.5
Stomach Sleepers6
PriceAverage: £582, rank: 2nd of 9
Materials/Design7.5
Smell/off-gassing7
Zoning:5 zones

Prices:

TypePrice
Single£375
EU Single£400
Double£575
EU Double£625
King£650
EU King£700
Super King£750

My Casper Mattress Thoughts

Arrival:

So the day came and the big box that all these online vacuum packed mattresses are contained in arrived. On purchase I was given a choice of free standard delivery by UPS or for £20 I could choose a 2 hour time slot (not till the day of delivery though). I went of the free option. Tracking did not update from the UPS and I just happened to be in on the day of arrival or I would not have known the mattress was coming. I am on a first floor and the delivery guy (just one man for my EU single)  brought the mattress up the stairs without complaint. Bear in mind the easiest time to manoeuvre these mattresses are when they are still boxed so you may want to take it straight to the bedroom before unpacking. However like all petroleum based foam mattresses off gassing (VOCs, volatile organic compounds) can be considerable during the first 48 hours and it is good practice to allow any mattress first to air in a well ventilated room before first use. I made a video of my unboxing which you can view here: Casper Mattress Unboxing This is my third Casper mattress and the first was actually packed the wrong way round. You can find that video on my main youtube channel (alanrossreviews). The cover was put on the wrong way round so if I had not looked inside the cover I would have been sleeping on the bottom base layer :).  This time all was ok (as was the second time).

Experience:

The 2018 Casper is softer than my 2017 version. As someone who does suffer with lower back pain I found I simply wasn’t getting any bad nights in terms of waking with aches and pains on the original Casper. While my Leesa Mattress had been really nice to sleep on when my lower back was giving me trouble I was waking with aches in that region. Not so with the  2017 Casper. The 2018 version is now more inline the feel of the Leesa and the Simba but retains its good spot relief (point elasticity) properties. The difference is not down to the zoning because that only effects the shoulders and the difference is subtle anyway, maybe 0.5 cm extra give. Of the softer mattresses (Emma, Leesa, Simba) Casper is perhaps the most supportive but the feel is quite different so you might not feel that way because of the pushback. I sleep 60% on my back and 40% on either side. I would say Casper has the best combination of comfort and support of the mattresses I have tried while not being best for either one (hope that makes sense). I still prefer the 2017 version because it was firmer and suited me pesdonally more. That does not mean its the most comfortable, I would say that was Leesa, or the most supportive, I would say that was Otty, but has the best combination. Also you need to know that I personally now use a 2 inch topper on a firm mattress (normally the 2017 Casper) when not testing out a mattress. When sleeping on your side give in the shoulder area is highly important and this is where the latest version of Casper has the most improvement. The softer foams together with the added zoning for the shoulder give at least a 1-1.5 cm extra give at the shoulder. The zoning adds around 0.5 to 1 cm give compared to the middle of the mattress. That is for someone of average weight. In terms of heat retention I have had no problems. Sure I have to swap out my duvet for a cooler one in the summer but that’s normal, I have not had any mattress related heat issues. This gets talked about a lot and you should note this is mostly a problem with the memory foam top layer mattresses since memory foam actually works by retaining heat to mold to your shape.

After-sales:

My experience of the after sales service was excellent. I had need to let them know the mattress cover had been placed the wrong way round. This wasn’t a huge deal to take off and put back the other way round but the support team offered an immediate exchange and when I decided to keep it then gave me another £50 off.

General Mattress Notes:

Technical aspects:

Casper give little away on their website with regards the technical aspects of the mattress. Asking their online support for the densities they tell me they are as I have stated above, 48 kg/m3 top layer, 49 kg/m3 for second layer, 49 kg/m3 for third layer and 33 kg/m3 for the base layer. This tallies with the actual weight of the mattress so seems very likely to be the actual densities. The polyurethane foams are all reasonably specified for each layer. There is no certification from the likes of CertiPur as per their USA mattress.

Base:

These type of mattresses come with their own incorporated base, that solid low density layer on the bottom. This means you can place it just about anywhere however on the floor is a bad idea for hygiene reasons. Slated bases should have their slates close together, too big a gap with allow the mattress to sag over time.

Iterations:

The original Casper mattress (sold in the USA) back in 2014 had 3 layers: 1.5 inches (3.8 cm) Latex top layer, 1.5 inches (3.8 cm) memory foam layer and a 6.5 (16.5 cm) base layer. In 2016 they swapped out the base layer for a 1.5 (3.8 cm) transitional layer and a reduced 5 inch (12.7 cm) traditional base layer. In 2017 they swapped out the top latex for a poly foam layer. Not sure why they are sticking with 1.5 inch (3.8 cm) layers, 2 inch (5 cm) layers are becoming quite standard and proven for this type of mattress. The switch from latex to poly foam I would assume would be on cost grounds given most people won’t initially notice that much difference. In 2018 the UK Casper mattress added handles to the bottom and a 5 area zoning to the base to add shoulder support, they also said the cover was now machine washable when previously they said it was spot clean only. The 2018 was also a softer overall mattress than the 2017 version.

Website:

They say: Open cell technology to keep you cool. However all modern polyurethane foam mattresses have open cell tech. It does indeed help cooling though. They say: Sleep on it, lounge on it, dream on it — if you don’t love it, we’ll give you a full refund. No springs attached. I’m guessing this is Caspers inhouse joke, springs instead of strings! They say:  The spring mattress was invented in the 1800s — so it’s safe to say it’s an outdated technology. They create uncomfortable pressure points, are more prone to wear and tear, and offer little motion isolation. I have to take issue with this. Its certainly not an outdated technology, indeed the methods and design in construction have evolved over  a long period of time so actually this may be seen as a benefit. There are many different types of sprung construction and are used in many high end mattresses. They say: WHAT’S GREAT ABOUT HYBRID FOAM? They use the term hybrid to mean different types of foam, memory foam and responsive poly foam. Hybrid is normally used to describe the combination of springs and foam in a single mattress so don’t get confused on what they are referring to.

Casper vs Bruno

Bruno will feel a lot firmer with a lot less give. Bruno sleeps cooler. Carry handles on the bottom of Bruno, and also on Casper. Polyfoam comfort layers on Casper vs Bruno with the more resilient latex comfort layer but only 3 cm.

Casper vs Emma Hybrid

Emma has the mini pocket springs as one of the four layers. Casper has a transition layer that Emma does not use just above the base layer. This transition layer is halfway between the feel of a comfort layer and the firmness of the support layer. Casper is about the same firmness level.

Casper vs Emma Original

Emma Original is firmer than Casper and has 3 layers compared to the four of Casper. They both have polyfoam on top and memory foam under that. Similar spot relief while Casper has more bounce. Emma is lighter. Both have handles and zoning.

Casper vs Eve

Eve is firmer than Casper, both have a polyurethane top layer, both have similar bounce, Eve is better for motion transfer and is Certipur certified.

Casper vs Leesa

Both very similar in feel. About the same firmness whilst Leesa is slightly cooler to sleep on (because the polyfoam is aerated). Casper a tad better for side sleepers, Casper has better contouring (spot relief). Leesa has the better overall materials and possible better longevity. Casper has a removable top cover, the Leesa cover is an all-in-one piece with the zip on the base. Casper advertised prices cheaper.

Casper vs Nectar

Nectar is a tad softer than Casper and with better contouring properties. Nectar is a memory foam mattress so will have less bounce but better motion transfer properties. Casper could sleep cooler because it does not have memory foam on top. Casper has handles on the bottom.

Casper vs Otty

Casper is an all foam mattress with polyfoam on the top layer which may offer better cooling. Otty is a true hybrid using gel memory foam, polyfoam and pocket springs. Otty has far more bounce and spot relief. Otty a little more firm.

Casper vs Sapira

Casper is an all foam mattress while Sapira uses full size pocket springs. Sapira has better edge support, is firmer and has better point elasticity. They both have similar bounce. Sapira has more push-back.

Casper vs Simba

Two very different mattresses. Simba has some notable design elements such as the top synthetic latex comfort layer and use of microcoils. They have a similar firmness feel. Casper also has slightly more bounce and better spot relief. Simba on paper offers a little more longevity.
.